Maybe you’re separated from your console or had to say a tearful goodbye to your PlayStation. Still, even under these circumstances, you’d like the right to remove your data from Sony permanently. In this guide, we teach you how to delete a PSN account through the official PlayStation app and web browser. That way, you can pull the plug with a trusty Android tablet, phone, or computer.




Deleting a PlayStation user account versus a PlayStation Network (PSN) account

Understanding the difference between deleting a PlayStation user account versus your PSN account is essential. Some users may wish to permanently wipe their user data off the hardware when selling or giving away their console. In this case, deleting a user account would be the more appropriate action to take. Power up your console and select User Management settings and Delete User (PlayStation 4) or Settings > Users and Accounts > Users (the garbage can icon by the user profile) for PlayStation 5 owners.

Users that wish to deactivate their PSN account altogether should read ahead. But deleting your PlayStation Network account results in losing access to your wallet funds, saved data, video clips, the PlayStation ID (it cannot be re-used to create a new account), and all subscriptions and games. So wiping your PSN account is a serious decision and should not be taken lightly. We go over the steps to close a PSN account for good.

How to delete a PSN account using the PlayStation app

You can use the PlayStation app to navigate to the support page. But once you’ve reached the final steps, you must have your sign-in ID (email address) and online username ready to hand off. Below we show you how to start and submit a PSN account closure. We included the download widget below if you need to install the app.

  1. Launch and log in to the PlayStation mobile app.
  2. Tap the gear icon to access the Settings menu on the homescreen.
  3. Select Support.
  4. Tap Account & Security.
  5. Choose Account Management.
  6. Select Create, change and close account.
  7. Tap How to close your account for PlayStation™Network.
  8. Tap Close an account from the drop-down menu.
  9. Select the contact us hyperlink.