• Home
  • Blog
  • Android
  • Cars
  • Gadgets
  • Gaming
  • Internet
  • Mobile
  • Sci-Fi
Tech News, Magazine & Review WordPress Theme 2017
  • Home
  • Blog
  • Android
  • Cars
  • Gadgets
  • Gaming
  • Internet
  • Mobile
  • Sci-Fi
No Result
View All Result
  • Home
  • Blog
  • Android
  • Cars
  • Gadgets
  • Gaming
  • Internet
  • Mobile
  • Sci-Fi
No Result
View All Result
Blog - Creative Collaboration
No Result
View All Result
Home Mobile

iPhone spyware alert: What Apple customers need to know

August 14, 2026
Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Table of Contents


Wake up to a message saying your iPhone may be a target for mercenary hackers? It may not have been as noisily in your face as other emergency alerts, but you still need to take it seriously.

The direct-to-device threat notification, which appears as a banner on your iPhone’s lock screen and atop the home screen, is a recent expansion of Apple’s existing threat detection features, designed to alert users of mercenary spyware attacks. The banner only appears on a device if Apple detects activity “consistent with a mercenary spyware attack,” the company explains.

SEE ALSO:

White House signing deals with private hackers to combat cybercrime

It reads: “Apple detected a mercenary spyware attack targeted at your iPhone. There are actions you can take now to protect your data and device.”

What does the spyware alert mean?

Mercenary spyware attacks are highly resourced, individualized attempts to penetrate devices in order to install surveillance programs. Often associated with state-sanctioned espionage and enabled by private tech companies, these attacks typically target individuals with political affiliations, including journalists, activists, politicians, and diplomats.

Apple uses internal threat intelligence technology to detect activity associated with the intrusions.

If you get an alert, it doesn’t necessarily mean spyware has successfully been installed on your device, but it does mean Apple has “high-confidence” you are a target. And that means you need to act fast to protect your information.

Mashable Light Speed

In a statement to TechCrunch, Apple confirmed it sent threat notifications to users in more than 110 countries late Thursday (Aug. 13) and more than 150 countries to date.

How can I verify the alert is real?

Apple’s threat notifications will never include clickable links or ask users to open attachments, log into accounts, or install apps. If your alert includes any of these, it is fake.

In addition to on-screen alerts, iPhone users will receive a threat detection notification in their device’s account settings, which appears under their Apple Account information. If your device is potentially being targeted, you will see a new menu option titled “Apple Threat Notifications.” It should have a red notification badge next to it.

Credit: Apple

An iPhone device settings menu. Below the user's account information is a new menu labeled "Apple Threat Notification" with a red dot alert next to it.

Credit: Apple

Apple will also send a message with additional threat information to the email address associated with your account. If you feel like you can’t trust an email, log into your account via a desktop computer or laptop. You should see an additional threat notification banner at the top of the page.

Got all three? You’re the lucky spyware winner.

What do I do if I get a spyware alert?

Users should immediately take steps to lock down their accounts and protect their personally identifiable information, Apple advises. The company suggests soliciting help from experts and directs users to partner organization Access Now and its 24/7 helpline.


This Tweet is currently unavailable. It might be loading or has been removed.

Users can also switch their devices to Lockdown Mode, which walls off specific apps, websites, and other features that are susceptible to such attacks. When an iPhone is in Lockdown Mode, users can’t access message attachments, click links, or continue sharing photo albums with contacts. Users can’t FaceTime contacts that haven’t been called within the last 30 days. Certain web browsing features and automatic WiFi joining are disabled. And other devices are automatically disconnected from your phone.

Next Post

Best OLED TV deal: The 77-inch 4K Samsung TV is $2,397.99

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No Result
View All Result

Recent Posts

  • Here’s A First Look At CoD: Warzone’s New Zodiac Map For MW4
  • Best Buy 60th Anniversary Sale: Dates, deals, and how to save
  • I spent $50 on the Fitbit Air’s fancy band. It’s a shocking case of style over substance
  • Best OLED TV deal: The 77-inch 4K Samsung TV is $2,397.99
  • iPhone spyware alert: What Apple customers need to know

Recent Comments

    No Result
    View All Result

    Categories

    • Android
    • Cars
    • Gadgets
    • Gaming
    • Internet
    • Mobile
    • Sci-Fi
    • Home
    • Shop
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms and Conditions

    © CC Startup, Powered by Creative Collaboration. © 2020 Creative Collaboration, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

    No Result
    View All Result
    • Home
    • Blog
    • Android
    • Cars
    • Gadgets
    • Gaming
    • Internet
    • Mobile
    • Sci-Fi

    © CC Startup, Powered by Creative Collaboration. © 2020 Creative Collaboration, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

    Get more stuff like this
    in your inbox

    Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

    Thank you for subscribing.

    Something went wrong.

    We respect your privacy and take protecting it seriously